Upcoming Lecture Programme published

Our upcoming Lecture Programme has recently been published and kicks off on Thursday 13th September.  Details of the lectures can be found by clicking on the ‘Programme’ tab in the main menu.

Post_Office_Engineers Crdit - Wiki

Post Office Engineers inspecting Marconi’s telegraph equipment on Flat Holm in 1897 (Wiki)

Some of you who picked up an early print edition of our programme may notice a change.  Unfortunately, due to unforeseen circumstances, our original speaker for February 2019 is unable to make it.  Instead we welcome Peter Sampson who will talk on ‘The Story and History of Flat Holm Island’.  Peter’s talk will be especially welcome given that we had in fact been hoping to visit Flat Holm island in June as part of our Summer Visit programme but had to change plans following problems relating to a damaged landing jetty.

Apart from that little glitch our Summer programme of visits ran very well indeed, helped of course by the dry weather we are still experiencing.  We had six trips in total, all of a varied nature.

St_Saviour's_Church,_Cardiff Credit - John Grayson Wiki

St Saviour’s Church and war memorial in Splott (Wiki)

We started at St Saviour’s Church in Splott where the parish priest, Father Phelim O’Hare, kindly gave us a guided tour and pointed out some of the changes made to the church over time.  The church was consecrated in October 1888 and was originally a daughter church of St German’s church in Star Street. St Saviour’s has been remodeled over the years and the nave cleverly converted into a church hall.

 

 

Newport Ship Model - Credit - Ted Richards

The 1:10 scale model of the Newport Ship with the recovered timbers depicted in solid form at the bottom.

 

One of the highlight’s of the Summer programme was an afternoon trip to both Newport and Caerleon.  In Newport we visited the ‘Newport Ship’, the remains of this 35m long medieval vessel were discovered in 2002.  The ship was built in northern Spain and traded mainly between Spain and Portugal and southern Britain carrying cargoes as varied as iron and wine.  It is believed that the ship came to Newport in 1486 for repairs but it toppled over into the mud where it lay for over 500 years.  We were treated to a detailed description of the painstaking work involved in restoring and preserving the ship’s timbers.  We look forward to visiting again when the restoration work is complete.

 

 

Cathays_Library

Cathays Branch and Heritage Library (Wiki)

Closer to home, the Society visited Cathays Branch and Heritage Library.  The library contains a host of resources for anyone interested in local studies in Cardiff.  Enthusiastic library manager Katherine Whittington talked us through their collections and resources including their on-line catalogue that can be searched at home.  I’ve since revisited the library in an attempt to answer that elusive question, ‘Where exactly is Roath?’ More on that in the future may be.

 

Before and after restoration

Highfields Church before and after restoration (Hisotorypoints)

A week after a hastily arranged visit to St Fagans National Museum of History it was time to visit another church, this time Highfields Church in Monthermer Road, Cathays.  There, Tony Cort gave us a tour and detailed talk on the history of the church buildings.  The church was originally Crwys Hall Methodist chapel built in the fashionable Arts and Crafts style and opened in 1900.  In 1906 the Pierce Hall, on the corner of Robert Street, was opened, named after Charles Pierce, a wealthy bachelor and retired magistrate from Bangor, who had donated a lot of the money for the church building.  In 1995 Highfields Church took over the building from what was then Cathays Presbyterian Church of Wales and began an extensive series of refurbishments but maintaining much of the original fabric.

Cyfarthfa Castle. Credit Ted Richards - Small

Cyfarthfa Castle Museum & Art Gallery

For the last trip of the summer we went to Cyfarthfa Castle Museum & Art Gallery in Merthyr Tydfil.   This isn’t a castle at all but the former grand home of the Crawshay  ironmaster family.  Chris, our eloquent guide for the day, gave us a fascinating and entertaining talk on the history of the Crawshay family, the ironworks and the house as well as the museum collection.  The view from the house today is green and picturesque and no doubt looks very different to the Crawshay days when he overlooked his iron works which were one of the largest in the world making him in turn one of the most wealthy industrialists in the world.  Entrance to the museum and art gallery is just £2 whist entrance to the extensive grounds is free of charge.

Looking forward to seeing you at our upcoming lectures.  In the meantime, enjoy the Summer!

Ted Richards

Advertisements

Cardiff Story Exhibition

Roath Local History Society, in conjunction with Cardiff City Council,announces a three month exhibition which is being held at The Cardiff Story Museum in the Old Library on The Hayes.

On a theme of a history of the Mackintosh Estate, it traces the fascinating story of land ownership, the dividing up of estates and the urban development of much of present day Roath, by the Mackintosh family. The origins of the names of streets and roads can be traced to members of the Richards and Mackintosh families.

This pictorial record continues with the setting up of the Mackintosh Sports and Social Club, housed in Plasnewydd mansion, on land provided by Mr and Mrs Mackintosh and continues with the establishment of the Mackintosh Residents Community Centre, which is the headquarters of Roath Local History Society.

The Exhibition can be found in the City Lab, on the lower ground floor of The Cardiff Story and is open daily.

Cardiff Story Exhibition –  Aug-Nov